Parliamentary Service Commission To Be Appointed

by Desk Editor on Thursday, March 1, 2012 — 11:38 AM

Parliament today will approve appointments to the Parliamentary Service Commission.

The first order of business after Question Time is scheduled to be three Government Notices of Motion to be put without debate.

MPs on the Parliamentary Service Commission have a large say in the funding and administration of MPs and Parliament.

The Commission was in the news recently when Speaker Lockwood Smith said he would refer to it the issue of how the funding of services for profoundly deaf MP Mojo Mather were organised.

The motion will appoint Michael Woodhouse, Chris Hipkins, Metiria Turei, Barbara Stewart, Te Ururoa Flavell, and Hone Harawira to the commission.

Other notices of motion cover the classification of the drug Tapentadol and the status of the Abortion Supervisory Committee, the Reserve
Bank of New Zealand, and Air New Zealand Limited as public organisations for the purposes of Standing Orders.

The first Government Bill to be dealt with this afternoon is the second reading of the Search and Surveillance Bill.

** is a breaking news source for New Zealand parliamentary business featuring broadcast daily news reports.

Content Sourced from
Original url

Previous post:

Next post: