Security Committee Members To Be Approved

by Desk Editor on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 — 11:12 AM

Appointments to the Intelligence and Security Committee will be confirmed when Parliament resumes today.

On top of the Order Paper is the first reading of the Appropriation (2010/11 Financial Review) Bill which is taken without debate.

Then is the Government’s Notice of Motion No 1 which endorses John Banks and Peter Dunne as the Prime Minister’s nominations to the Intelligence and Security Committee and Russel Norman as the Leader of the Opposition’s nominee.

The committee is intended to oversee the operations of agencies such as the SIS, but in the past has been criticised by some for rarely meeting.

MPs will then return to the committee stage of the Search and Surveillance Bill which will probably take up the most of today’s business.
** is a breaking news source for New Zealand parliamentary business featuring broadcast daily news reports.

Content Sourced from
Original url

Previous post:

Next post: