Debate On Representation Committee Members To Be Held

by Desk Editor on Tuesday, September 3, 2013 — 10:50 AM

MPs will nominate members of the Representation Committee when Parliament resumes today.

After Question Time, MPs are scheduled to debate two Notices of Motion to make appointments to the Commission.

The motions name former MPs Roger Sowry and Pete Hodgson to be the Government’s and Opposition’s representatives on the Representation Commission and Daniel Takutaimoana Te Kanawa and Whetumarama Werata to represent the Government and Opposition for the purpose of determining the boundaries of the Maori electoral districts.

The Commission redraws the electorate boundaries taking into account the latest census figures and relevant electoral law which lays down the desirable size, number and location of electorate seats.

Electorate boundaries are no longer as crucial as they were under the FPP electoral system, but are still of intense interest to many sitting electorate MPs and those who wish to take those seats off them.

Minor parties are likely to repeat complaints that the two nominations of Labour represent the interests of the two major parties and not those of other parties in Parliament.

Following a half hour debate on the motion, MPs will begin the committee stage debate of the Housing Accords and Special Housing Areas Bill.

** is a breaking news source for New Zealand parliamentary business featuring broadcast daily news reports

Content Sourced from
Original url

Previous post:

Next post: