Parliament Opens With New MPs, Lorde And PM’s Statement

by Desk Editor on Tuesday, January 28, 2014 — 2:24 PM

When Parliament resumed at 2pm Speaker David Carter announced changes to the composition of Parliament.

Katrina Shank’s resignation as an MP and the election of Poto Williams at the Christchurch East by-election was formally notified.

Then Williams was sworn in as an MP as was Joanne Hayes to replace Shanks.

Prime Minister John Key put forward a motion congratulated Lorde for her success in the Grammy Awards.

The motion was passed on a voice vote.

Government MPs objected to NZ First MP Andrew Williams tabling a letter concerning war pensions as it had not been discussed by the Business Committee

The Prime Minister presented his statement to the House and debate began.

** is a breaking news source for New Zealand parliamentary business featuring broadcast daily news reports

Content Sourced from
Original url

Previous post:

Next post: